Holy McHenry

Hi, my name is Holly McHenry, and I am 43 years old. I am originally from Baltimore Maryland, and I moved here, with my mother, when I was ten when she relocated for work. I grew up in the north-west part of Phoenix near the ASU West campus and went to Moon Valley High School. I currently work as an administrative assistant for the state, and I am also a student, pursuing my undergrad. I started college shortly after I finished high school, initially going for psychology. I ended up changing my focus to social work. I felt there was more diversity regarding opportunities within that profession and it would enable me to have a more “hands-on” involvement in helping people.

I enjoy Arizona, and I do not see myself relocating after I have finished my degree. The weather is fantastic, I don’t have to shovel or drive in snow, or worry about flooding and torrential rain, and there is such a diverse list of outdoor activities to enjoy year-round. I mean, you couldn’t ask for much more. In the next several years I am hopeful to have completed my Bachelor’s degree, as well as my Master’s, but I am concerned with where society is headed. It would be nice if we, society, could learn to be less guarded and hostile toward one another.

If we could start working together for the good of the group instead of working against one another at every turn, our living environment would be so much better. I don’t want to sound like a pessimist, but if we don’t wake up and snap out of this funk we are in, I’m not sure how we are going to get through the next several years. However, in my heart of hearts, I am hopeful for the best outcome. It’s that hope that keeps me moving forward.

error: Content is protected !!